Tel: ‭352-392-1038

Wedgworth Alumni Lead in Political Circles

We always have reasons to be proud of our Wedgworth Alumni Members,

and today we have two more reasons!

Class II Member to run for Florida Congressional District 15

Danny Kushmer, Class II

Danny Kushmer, Class II, announced on April 17th, 2018, that he will run for the open Florida Congressional District 15 seat being vacated by the Honorable Dennis Ross.

Danny Kushmer, a third generation Floridian from Hillsborough County with deep roots in agriculture announced, “After consulting with friends and family; with a great sense of humility, I will run for Florida’s 15th Congressional Seat. The time has come to bring a new perspective to Congress.”

Kushmer currently serves as the Executive Director of International Responsible Farming Council (IRFC), a not-for-profit corporation telling the American Farmer’s story through certification and participation in best management practices to ensure use of the latest food safety protocols. Additionally, he is the Director of Environmental and Regulatory Compliance for Highland Precision Ag. Previously, from 2007 to 2016, he was the Senior Government Affairs Manager for the Southwest Florida Water Management District.

We are so pleased with Danny for stepping up in true Wedgworth fashion to lead in his district, and we are confident that he will make us proud as he represents our program!  Good luck on the campaign trail!

To read the full press release, click here:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Danny Kushmer for Congress

Class VII Member elected onto Lake Placid Town Council

Charlie Wilson, Class VII

Charlie Wilson, Class VII, was recently elected onto the Lake Placid Town Council

Ray Royce, Class VII

Also on the town council is Ray Royce, also a member of Class VII and the current AAWLI President.  We think it’s the only municipality in the state with two WLI alumni!

Congratulations, Charlie, on your election!  We look forward to following your leadership journey as you serve your Lake Placid community members alongside our alumni president!